"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments - cover

Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments

Ann Shen

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their timeLooks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. • An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness• You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.

Other books that might interest you

  • Stanislavski For Beginners - cover

    Stanislavski For Beginners

    T. M. Allen

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Stanislavski was the first person to develop a cogent and practical system of acting. Throughout his life he sought the answers to such fundamental questions as: "What is great acting?" and "How can you find inspiration in every performance?" Stanislavski remains the most important influence on actor training today, and yet many of his ideas are little known, or even misunderstood.Stanislavski For Beginners charts the development of the Stanislavski system. It includes a clear exposition of the key elements of the system and explores his Method of Physical Actions, which he worked on in the years before his death, and which he called “the result of my whole life’s work.”
    Show book
  • Paul Signac - cover

    Paul Signac

    Paul Signac

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspired by Monet’s work at a young age, Paul Signac (1863-1935) was a friend and disciple of Georges Seurat who combined the scientific precision of pointillism with the vivid colors and emotional expressivity of Impressionism. A close personal friend of Vincent van Gogh, who was a great admirer of his techniques, Signac traveled the world in search of inspiration for his monumental canvases. This book examines the intricacies of Signac’s celebrated technique, as well as showcasing the details of some of his most celebrated works.
    Show book
  • Introducing Modernism - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Modernism - A...

    Chris Rodrigues

    • 4
    • 2
    • 0
    Modernism is usually thought of as a shock wave of innovations hitting art, architecture, music, cinema and literature - the work of Picasso, Joyce, Schoenberg, movements like Futurism and Dada, the architecture of Le Corbusier, T.S. Eliot's The Wasteland and the avant-garde theatre of Bertolt Brecht or Samuel Beckett. But what really defines modernism? Why did it begin and how long did it last? Is Modernism over now? Chris Rodriguez and Chris Garratt's brilliant graphic guide is a brilliant exploration of the last century's most thrilling artistic work - and what it's really all about.
    Show book
  • The Art of Singing - The Science of Emotions - cover

    The Art of Singing - The Science...

    MIHAELA BUHAICIUC

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In teaching one the art of singing, the constant emphasis on good breath, phrasing and enunciation, tone and poise, text and character becomes, although probably not intended, a rigid mental processing for both student and mentor. Studies autonomously without filtering through the emotional self, the mental act will not rise to true feeling and original art. The mental component fits into a greater dynamic configuration in order to define interpretation, communication, and artistic beauty in singing.
    
    The Art of Singing. The Science of Emotions is a voyage still in progress. Tentatively engraved in this volume, the first impressions after eighteen-year search of artistic truth are collected as a compendium of thoughts and excitements with elucidations on both rational and emotional landscapes. The book traces concepts of science, art, spirituality, and philosophy mirrored in the ideal performing the self through singing.
    Show book
  • Real Sexy Photography - The Art and Business of Boudoir - cover

    Real Sexy Photography - The Art...

    Dani Klein-Williams

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Dani Klein-Williams is renowned for her chic, flirty, and feminine boudoir portrait style and ability to showcase each woman’s best assets. In this book, Dani will help photographers focus on revealing a woman’s true essence. She explains not only how to deliver uniquely alluring photos, but also how to create a meaningful experience for every client. With an innate approachability and a bit of humor, Dani embraces the concept that every woman has a beauty all her own—one simply must know how to draw it out and capture it. This book offers guidance on all aspects of boudoir photography, including attracting your ideal clients, planning for the session, lighting and exposure strategies, flattering posing and creative composition, post-production, and sales. You’ll also discover tips for building rapport to ensure you are able to produce an array flattering, sensual images that she—and any anticipated portrait recipient — will truly cherish.
    Show book
  • Boudoir Lighting - Simple Techniques for Dramatic Photography - cover

    Boudoir Lighting - Simple...

    Robin Owen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Boudoir portraits are intimate by nature. The provide an intimate, private look at subjects and are intended for those who have a close emotional relationship with the subject—or in some cases, are made for the subject herself.Creating images that capture the romantic, sensual side of a subject requires a masterful approach. All components of the photography—from the photographer-client relationship, to the setting, to the clothing selection, to the posing and lighting, must be carefully thought out and flawlessly executed.In this book, Robin Owen shows off her uncanny skill at creating 60 sweet and sexy images of women and couples. As you turn the pages, you'll find discussions detailing the artistic approach used to photograph each client—and you'll see alternate shots from the session, which are sure to inspire additional ideas for your own boudoir clients.From one page spread to the next, Olson provides important insights into sculpting the look you are after. You'll learn to work with unexpected lighting configurations and modifiers. You'll find and learn how to create unlikely settings—among many other creative considerations that allow you to create images that stand out from the competition. With a surprising array of image looks to inspire your creativity and targeted technical discussions, this book provides both the impetus and the know-how you're after to get out there and create unforgettable images.
    Show book