Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Flash of Words 2 - The Games - cover

A Flash of Words 2 - The Games

Brian Paone

Publisher: Scout Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From Scout Media comes A Flash of Words 2: The Games, the seventh volume in an ongoing short story anthology series featuring authors from all over the world, and the second in which the stories are exclusively flash-fiction pieces.
 
 
 
In this installation, no limits were set on genre; however, the authors had to incorporate a game into the plotline, from chess, to hide and seek, to Monopoly, to poker, and even Super Mario Bros. Within these moments of competition and not always good sportsmanship, these flash-fiction length stories will warm your heart, send shivers down your spine, and tickle your funny bone.
 
 
 
Whether to be enlightened, entertained, or momentarily immersed in another world, these selections convey the true spirit of flash fiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Blood-Stained Pavement - A Miss Marple Short Story - cover

    The Blood-Stained Pavement - A...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A classic Agatha Christie short story, featuring Miss Marple, from the collection Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories.  
    Joyce Lempiere tells the Tuesday Night Club of an incident that occurred five years ago when she was vacationing at a small inn on the Cornish coast. She was painting a picture of the front of the inn, including details of wet bathing suits drying on the balcony of Denis and Margery Dacre, when she realised she had included blood stains on the pavement. A few days later Margery is found dead, having drowned, and the Club are called to solve the mystery.
    Show book
  • Tales of a Traveller - cover

    Tales of a Traveller

    Washington Irving

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This collection by the author of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow recounts the experiences of an American abroad in the early nineteenth century.In Tales of a Traveller, renowned essayist and short story writer Washington Irving turns his talents to the genre of travel writing. Based on his excursions across Europe, Irving tells of the people he meets in France, England, Italy, and elsewhere, recounting the many tall tales they tell him. First published in 1824, this collection includes the narrative of a young German student living in Paris during the French Revolution; an account of Italian bandits who prey on travelers on the road to Naples; and legends of the pirate Captain Kidd, including the story “The Devil and Tom Walker,” which served as the inspiration for Stephen Vincent Benét’s “The Devil and Daniel Webster.”
    Show book
  • A Christmas Tragedy - A Miss Marple Story - cover

    A Christmas Tragedy - A Miss...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology The Thirteen Problems. 
    At a health resort, Miss Marple becomes suspicious that a man she meets is planning on murdering his wife.
    Show book
  • The Daughter In Law - A gripping new psychological thriller - cover

    The Daughter In Law - A gripping...

    Nina Manning

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    'Compelling and claustrophobic, Nina is an exciting new voice and definitely one to watch' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Girl Next Door'Chilling and creepy. An atmospheric and addictive debut.' Diane Jeffrey, author of The Guilty Mother No one is good enough for her son… As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding?She’ll protect him with her life… When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding…A gripping, psychological page-turner, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K.L. Slater.'Totally addictive. I couldn't put it down!' Darren O'Sullivan, author of Closer Than You Think'A claustrophobic, nail-biting thriller that draws you in and doesn't let go.' Naomi Joy, author of The Liars‘Clever, emotionally draining and totally gripping. I absolutely loved this book!’ D E White, author of Remember Me What readers are saying about The Daughter In Law:'I give this book 5 Wows!''Absolutely fantastic had me gripped!!! Loved it! Can't wait for more from this author.' '5 stars! What a great book!''This did not disappoint. Lots of twists and turns and I loved the ending. Cannot wait to read more from this author.''There is quite a few twistsin this story but the biggest twist is the one at the end and I didn’t have a clue.''A ridiculously good book. I loved every single page and couldn't put it down.''Fantastic, creepy, dark and chilling.''This book was excellent!'Fast paced, with twists and some turns you can see coming this is the perfect beach read.''A page turner that I couldn’t put down!!!' 'I couldn't put it down'
    Show book
  • Confessions - Inklet #44 - cover

    Confessions - Inklet #44

    Amy Laurens

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In a world where only priests make art, she listens as strange noises range outside her cell. 
    She assumed the authorities wanted to question her about her little brother. 
    But the truth? Much more sinister than that. 
    The price for her transgressions? Everything she ever held dear. 
    A cautionary tale about crossing boundaries, and the power of art to affect reality.
    Show book
  • Tales from the Shadows - Short Story Collection #1 - cover

    Tales from the Shadows - Short...

    James Loscombe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Strange things lurk in the shadows and not all of them remain there 
      
    Tales from the Shadows is a collection of thirteen thrilling short stories totalling more than 100,000 words. 
      
    The stories in this collection include: 
      
    Visitors 
    Sacrifice 
    The Forgotten 
    Elder Ones 
    The Stranger 
    Miracle Cure 
    The Web of Despair 
    Water 
    Acts of Revenge 
    Left Behind 
    Into the Night 
    Last One To Die 
    Away From Home 
     
    Show book