Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Canoeing in the Wilderness - cover

Canoeing in the Wilderness

Henry David Thoreau

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"I little thought that there was such a light shining in the darkness of the wilderness for me."In Canoeing in the Wilderness, the eminent American essayist vividly recounts his journey through the Maine woods in mid-19th century America. The landscapes he encounters remind him of both the charms and wildness of nature untouched by modern man.At once engaging and uniquely descriptive, Thoreau's classic travelogue reveals the authentic love of the natural world that established his legacy as a great environmentalist.

Other books that might interest you

  • Around the World in 80 Trains - A 45000-Mile Adventure - cover

    Around the World in 80 Trains -...

    Monisha Rajesh

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    WINNER OF THE NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELLER AWARD FOR BEST TRAVEL BOOK 
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE STANFORD DOLMAN TRAVEL BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD 
     
     
    'Monisha Rajesh has chosen one of the best ways of seeing the world. Never too fast, never too slow, her journey does what trains do best. Getting to the heart of things. Prepare for a very fine ride' Michael Palin 
     
    From the cloud-skimming heights of Tibet's Qinghai railway to silk-sheeted splendour on the Venice Simplon-Orient-Express, Around the World in 80 Trains is a celebration of the glory of train travel and a witty and irreverent look at the world.   
     
    Packing up her rucksack – and her fiancé, Jem – Monisha Rajesh embarks on an unforgettable adventure that takes her from London's St Pancras station to the vast expanses of Russia and Mongolia, North Korea, Canada, Kazakhstan, and beyond. The journey is one of constant movement and mayhem, as the pair strike up friendships and swap stories with the hilarious, irksome and ultimately endearing travellers they meet on board, all while taking in some of the earth's most breathtaking views.
    Show book
  • Instant Wit - How to Be Witty and Come Up with the Right Things to Say Instantly! - cover

    Instant Wit - How to Be Witty...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How to Be Witty and Come Up with the Right Things to Say Instantly!
     
    Surely you've encountered (or even know) that one particular individual in your life who seems to be able to pull "something witty to say" at the drop of a hat that knocks everyone's socks off - by generating the perfect responses for the perfect moment, cracking unexpected jokes making people laugh, or bantering witty one-liner comments with their endless repertoire of repartees.
     
    So who is this Mr./Ms. Witty? You're scratching your head dumbfounded, yet in impressive awe...how in the world do they do it, and deep down secretly wanting to be like them.
     
    Who doesn't, right? Who wouldn't love to be admired, respected, and worshipped for their charming clever wit? Yet, it's much more than that. By being witty, you can always come up with the right things to say, at the right time in expressing yourself clearly, concisely, and convincingly at an instant with few short words (no more, no less) that establishes more authority, credibility, and trust.
     
    That's the power of having a razor-sharp wit! If the pen is mightier than the sword, then the wit is sharper than the knife. However, let's be honest, being witty doesn't always come naturally, especially for those who are less creative and more logical-prone. The good news is, your wit is like your muscle, and like any muscle, it can be trained and built up...all without needing to memorize any line by knowing a few structures and formulas to guide how to generate your responses.
     
    Within "Instant Wit":
     
    * How to use this "twister technique" to prepare yourself on what you should say, when the exact moment occurs for your quick comeback.
     
    * How to strengthen your creative wit to banter witty one-liners with another person, for good fun or quick laugh.
     
    * How to cut down any opponent with your razor-sharp wit, so they won't dare mess with you ever again.
     
    * How to take whatever response you get and absorb it, to think of and respond back with the appropriate words.
     
    * How to use your clever wit to think fast on your feet during tough situation, to handle it properly for the best outcome.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises to improve your wittiness.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Don't be dim-witted...be quick-witted. Become the king/queen of your wit by developing a razor-sharp wit to be reckon with. Respect the wit!
    Show book
  • Sons of Rome - cover

    Sons of Rome

    Simon Turney, Gordon Doherty

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    'A page turner from beginning to end ... A damn fine read' Ben Kane. 
     
    Four Emperors. Two Friends. One Destiny. 
     
    As twilight descends on the 3rd century AD, the Roman Empire is but a shadow of its former self. Decades of usurping emperors, splinter kingdoms and savage wars have left the people beleaguered, the armies weary and the future uncertain. And into this chaos Emperor Diocletian steps, reforming the succession to allow for not one emperor to rule the world, but four. 
     
    Meanwhile, two boys share a chance meeting in the great city of Treverorum as Diocletian's dream is announced to the imperial court. Throughout the years that follow, they share heartbreak and glory as that dream sours and the empire endures an era of tyranny and dread. Their lives are inextricably linked, their destinies ever-converging as they rise through Rome's savage stations, to the zenith of empire. For Constantine and Maxentius, the purple robes beckon...
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    Rosie Anderson was hoping to whisk her young son Danny away for a lovely Christmas with family, far from the hustle and bustle of her life in London. But then her boss at the head office – aka Susan the Sacker – suddenly assigns her to go in incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being closed permanently. Rosie doesn't know why The Old Bell Inn is performing so badly but it's on her to sort it out!
     
    Hours in the car later, Rosie arrives at the inn to find she's been double booked – there are no rooms left. And she isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale. 
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • Screen-Free Crafts Kids Will Love - Fun Activities that Inspire Creativity Problem-Solving and Lifelong Learning - cover

    Screen-Free Crafts Kids Will...

    Lynn Lilly, The Craft Box Girls...

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    A COLLECTION OF EDUCATIONAL, ENTERTAINING CRAFTS THAT ARE SURE TO GET KIDS AND PARENTS TO UNPLUG AND INTERACTDoes your child spend too much time in front of a screen? Help them discover the excitement of hands-on learning with Screen-Free Crafts Kids Will Love. Packed with DIY projects like a personalized race track chore tracker, a high-flying homemade 3D kite and handmade musical instruments, the activities in this book will encourage your child to explore the world beyond the screen.Screen-Free Crafts Kids Will Love features step-by-step instructions and color photosfor over 60 entertaining and educational projects that are guaranteed to:• Promote lifelong learning• Stimulate creativity• Improve problem solving• Spur imaginative thinking• Encourage independent playtimeAnd the fun doesn’t end when the crafting is over. Youngsters will love making and playing with their new handmade creations on game night, at parties, during holidays and more.
    Show book
  • JIN SHIN JYUTSU For Your Animal Companions - cover

    JIN SHIN JYUTSU For Your Animal...

    Adele Leas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Learn the basic techniques of the ancient Art of Jin Shin Jyutsu for use on animal companions to promote healing, health and harmony of body, mind and spirit. The book is based on Mary Burmeister's Jin Shin Jyutsu Self Help books 1 and 2, which are said to contain the essence of this "Art of the Creator through Compassionate Man." Includes step by step directions and color illustrations, showing the adaptations needed to easily work with different size species including: dogs, horses, cats, birds, rabbits, and hamsters.The pages are clear and accessible, with hands showing the location of each step. Flows are adapted as needed based on the relationship of the Safety Energy Locks (building blocks of the body) in different species, as well as attitudinal and physical differences needed to be able to work with domesticated  animals.
    Show book